top of page

Adjusting to mom life!

Have you ever felt a time in your life where you felt like you absolutely knew nothing and was thrown into the fire to figure it out and learn it? For most mothers, I am sure this is how they felt, I know I did. Even though I had developed experience with taking care of babies, toddlers and children, it was definitely a different experience going into as me being the parent and fully responsible for this baby. There was no giving them back or watching them partially anymore, it became a full-time job, around the clock, 24/7 job. Yes, you get to sleep occasionally in the beginning, but the life you knew was no longer there and you were thrown into a whole other life that would be part of you for the rest of your life! #momlife You go from being on your own schedule, your own time, waiting on no one too being a 100% caretaker, having a person fully depend on you for everything. At first it can be very hard and draining trying to adjust to this new life called mom life.

Now don't get me wrong I am not complaining one bit, I love being a mother. However, let's not deny the fact that most women have difficulty adjusting to mom life and it can be a hard challenge, that's partially why a lot of women suffer from post-partum depression, which will be discussed in a whole other post for itself. Adjusting to becoming a parent is hard, especially if you were someone use to doing things by yourself or very independent. For me, mom life came quite natural due to my previous experience, but I suffered from adjusting to my role in a way that would make the baby happy but myself as well.

When my son was born, I went from being Casandra a person, an individual, too being a mom, 24/7, I didn't recognize, nor did I know who I was anymore. I got so lost in being a mom (which isn't a bad thing) that I forgot to take care of myself and my needs. These needs were even basic needs, such as showering, eating, enjoying things that I enjoyed. I didn't have the opportunity to be a parent to slack or not give a 100% to my child, I felt so alone when I had my son. No one wanted to hold him or help out with him being he was the smallest baby any of us had ever personally seen, he was a preemie baby and weighed only 4lbs so most of my family that was around was afraid to hold him. As well as it was during a pandemic where you weren't interact and mingling with people, so we were on isolation because we wanted to protect our son as well as ourselves.

I didn't fully feel like I was getting a part of me back until about 2 and a half months into having my son, and even then it was very limited. Becoming a mom is hard and challenging, but being a breast-feeding mom is a whole different level of challenging. They are constantly on the boob needing nourishing and they literally depend on you for everything. Plus, when your child is breastfed most people think that when they cry they need the boob, so you rarely get time to do the bare necessities for yourself. However, after you get over those couple of months of having your baby, things start getting better. I started to feel myself again, I could work out, I could spend some more time in the shower by myself, I could get schoolwork done, clean or so on. I would also like to note that I suffered from a very traumatic event after my son was born, 2 months into him being born that really sent me down a dark path in my life and haltered me getting back into my daily routines, feeling like myself. It took a lot of work for me to know hey it’s okay to let your baby sleep alone, play alone, or spend some extra time hanging out in the bouncer or the walker, depending on what age he was, it was different things.

I finally understood that I needed to take care of me and that it was okay for me to do that. My son is over a year old, almost 16 months and I have never had an outing or time spent away from him. My son is so attached to me it has been hard to let him go, but I am proud to say today I am taking a step a little closer to adjusting to mom life and taking care of myself by going out and doing something for me apart from him for an hour or two. My son is my world, but I know that I have to be the best me to be the best mom for me! Adjusting to mom life can be hard but it’s also rewarding to both the mom and the child being able to separate the two and being able to be an impeccable mom when you need to be but also being impeccable for yourself, whether that's . taking a bath or going to the gym for an hour. Everyday make a promise to yourself to know your roles and how each role needs to be filled and taking care of. One small step is one small victory, don't try to rush it or push it too quickly, take it nice and slow if that's how it needs to be.

Thank you guys for tuning into another post, let me know how you guys feel or what you guys would like to see on our page. XoXo Mama C! #mommy #blogger #support #subscribe #momlife


Recent Posts

See All

The Beauty that comes with Breastfeeding!

Breastfeeding is an amazing and wonderful journey to take with being a mother. I know there is a lot of talk about breastfeeding and how everyone kind of shuns people who do not breast feed their kids

Becoming a Mom!

I am sure we have all heard about the blessings and the challenges of being a first-time mom or a first-time parent in general. Most will have completely different stories, but also very relatable and

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

My name is MamaC! As I take this Journey that God has so graciously provided for me, I would love to bring you guys along on this wonderful journey I call Motherhood! Come joy this crazy, but amazing ride with me! XoXo C! 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Pinterest
bottom of page